Solve: There is no Brightness button on my new keyboard ヽ(°〇°)ノ

Solve: There is no Brightness button on my new keyboard ヽ(°〇°)ノ

As the title says, I bought a new keyboard for my laptop, unfamiliar with world of keyboards, I went with the safest option, approved by many, the Logitech G213 Prodigy.

Much to my suprise, I was not able to control brightness with this new keyboard.

  • No function keys were mapped to brightness settings
  • There was no specific keys for that
  • Even G Hub software had no System Action for brightness

So, the dev inside me said, lets tackle it with software!
By the help of stack-overflow and powershell docs, I wrote a simple powershell script, to adjust my brightness... {% gist gist.github.com/ra101/c2060ade52280b4fcbe32.. %}

.\brightness.ps1 <# No agrs will increase brightness (+10) #>
.\brightness.ps1 desc <# desc as arg will decrease brightness (-10) #>


Now I compiled this file to .exe, to replicate that,

  • First Install ps2exe module in powershell (as admin)

    Install-Module ps2exe
    
  • Simply use this module to convert ps1 to exe

    Invoke-ps2exe .\brightness.ps1 .\brightness.exe -noConsole
    


First I thought of using AutoHotKey, but i couldn't utilise any function key there. So, settled with G-Hub instead

Now, head over to G-Hub add this file as application, twice , one for +10 and other for -10, remember to add desc there and then change whatever Function keys you want map to brightness.

FYI: I used F6 key to change to G-shift mode. and F7 to increase brightness and F8 to decrease brightness in G-shift mode. No updation made in default mode.


Please comment, for any suggestion regarding this keyboard, or any wonderful hack you have in mind.

Did you find this article valuable?

Support Parth Agarwal by becoming a sponsor. Any amount is appreciated!